Living our life entirely for God?

Matthias Church, Budapest

 “All that is not the love of God has no meaning for me.  I can truthfully say that I have no interest in anything but the love of God which is in Christ Jesus.  If God wants it to, my life will be useful through my word and witness.  If he wants it to, my life will bear fruit through my prayers and sacrifices.  But the usefulness of my life is his concern, not mine.  It would be indecent of me to worry about that.”  ~ Dominique Voillaume

Dominique was a man, whom after being diagnosed with inoperable cancer moved to the slums of Paris, took a job as a night watchman and while returning home at 8:00 am each morning made friends with the homeless, winos, marginalized people in his local park.  He never criticized or scolded them.  He only befriended them and shared Christ when he could.  One day, they stopped their vulgar language around him.  Probably because they felt a holiness about him or maybe they accepted Christ.  One day he didn’t come to visit them and they started questioning where he was.  They were concerned.  He had passed away in his apartment, in the obscurity of a Parisian slum.  Above was his last journal entry.

This is a paraphrased excerpt from Brennan Manning’s book, The Signature of Jesus, which I am reading.  It is speaking powerfully to me and Phil. It is challenging us.

Are we really living our life entirely for God?  Are we unconcerned about being recognized, receiving praise, even being used by God — are we most concerned about those minutes and hours we can steal away to be with God, to pray to Him, to pour over His words?

We are praying that we would be entirely surrendered to Christ.  That we would be free and anxious to love Him and others in absurd abundance !  We hope that you would join us in this prayer.

3 thoughts on “Living our life entirely for God?

Leave a comment