a few world travels and the joy of coming back home

I have to begin by telling you that I’m writing you from beautiful Albania.  A big puffy cloud is hanging low, just at the tip of the mountains that we’re gazing at from our balcony.  A cool 70 degree evening.  Blue sky.  Green trees in the distance.  And a few pink poppies still hanging on as the last plants left in our flower boxes.  Phil reading his Kindle.  We’re enjoying our Sunday.

A couple weeks ago, I (Mel) left for Mexico to see my best friend Dana get married.  It was perfectly beautiful and fun !  We stayed at an unbelievable resort with all you can eat and drink everything.  I was sipping on fruity cocktails and eating the biggest prawns I could get my fingers on the entire 4 days.  Then came Dana’s wedding day and  honestly, she was stunning.  Their love was just pure joy for all of us to celebrate.  I am so blessed to have been there.  God was so kind to make it possible.  Phil was so gracious to let me go without the slightest bit of guilt.  (Except I now owe him an iPad … )  Here are a few photos of us girls.  One of the best parts of the trip was having time with Sarah too (in the big hat.)  I miss her and Dane so much.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Since I was already across the Atlantic, I couldn’t pass by the opportunity to see my parents too!  I hopped a flight to West Virginia to see them and my brother for two days.  We hung out, went shopping, talked for hours, and went to Kennywood for Father’s Day … too much fun!  The time went by all too fast, but I was grateful for every moment I had with them.  Fortunately, Phil and I will be back for the holidays, so it won’t be too much longer until we’re together again.   😉

After the little WV stop-off, I traveled to Larnaca, Cyprus for a long work week before finally making it home to my wonderful Philip.  It was so amazing coming home to him.  We still remember the days of being away from each other for months on end, so we are all the more grateful for our life together and specifically our days together.  Some of the things that were nice to come home to … a big hug, the green mountains, walking to work together, and juicy nectarines.  There’s a lot more I could add to that list…

To wrap it up …. Happy early 4th of July to all our American friends and family !! Know that we’re missing you !

5 thoughts on “a few world travels and the joy of coming back home

  1. You went to Kennywood!!! Sweet!
    I saw the pics from Dana’s wedding, you all looked beautiful! Looking forward to reading more. Xo

  2. I’ve been waiting for this blog! 🙂
    Gorgeous pictures….and Mel, it’s so great to see you with your family too. What a wonderful trip….we’re glad you got to do it. And….we’re very thankful it was a great trip and you made it back ‘home’ safely. It was a great day here too. Great sermon and then a lovely day up the river.
    Much love!

  3. Oh awesome! I swoon when I read the way you convey emotion. Your love for friends, family, and Phil are just beautiful and encouraging. So glad you had a good time!

Leave a Reply

