Settling in …

Image

Abyala at 19 weeks old

Phil, Abyala, and I continue to slowly but surely settle into our home in Kathmandu.  I am figuring out how to cook here, I finally made one of our beds into a couch, Phil found a place to buy me flowers, and together we’re learning how to have a little fun.  We have access to a (relatively) clean pool and we’re starting to make some great friends (yay!).  I began volunteering for a beautiful social business that gives jobs to women who have been exploited called Beauty for Ashes.  Abyala comes with me and we hardly accomplish anything, but it’s food for our souls so we continue.  We are happy to report that despite some lingering home sickness (for our family), life is beginning to feel “good” again.  I’m not sure the home sickness will go away (it’s been more than 5 years now), but we’re learning to be grateful for loving our family so much that we miss them endlessly.

IMG_5105

This morning we saw the snowy peaks from our rooftop again.  The view alone refreshed us from a night of little sleep (life with a 19 week old.)  I took a moment to admire my wonderful husband and our beautiful daughter amidst that backdrop and my breath was taken away.  I felt so loved.  And still do.  I’m reminded of a scripture verse I was studying with some ladies here…”Who am I , O Sovereign Lord, and what is my family that you have brought me this far?” 2 Samuel 7:18.  Sincerely, who am I that God would be so gracious.  Grateful for my family today and for God’s blessings as we settle into this new home.

One thought on “Settling in …

  1. LOVE YOUR UPDATES AND PHOTOS! 🙂 I just picked up a little girl I have been working with from Royal Ridges!!! She loved it. It is totally different and exactly the same. 🙂 They have made everyone wear helmets and apparently teaching little girls to hang upside down from cantering ponies is too dangerous anymore. LOL. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

